## Colorado

Higher Education Data Collection Managed by the Colorado Department of Higher Education

DHE-SURDS 'Enrollment File' Field Definitions

New Format beginning for the Summer 2012 data collection

Last Modified on September 27, 2012

Archived: February 2012 April 2011 June 2010 Dec 2009 May 2009 Sep 2008 Jan 2007

Field #/Starting Position	Field Name	Field Definitions/Descriptions
1/1	RecordType	<b>Definition:</b> A flag that indicates which record type is being reported.
		Codes/Notes: 1 (enrollment file)
		Missing Value: Does not apply; field must be completed.
		Edit Specs: Code must be 1.
		Format: AlphaNumeric, 1 place integer
2/2	Institution Code	<b>Definition:</b> The unique code designations for Colorado postsecondary institutions.
		<b>Codes/Notes:</b> The number assigned to each higher education institution identifying an institution with a 4-digit institutional code. See Institution Code in Glossary.
		Missing Value: Does not apply; field must be completed.
		<b>Edit Specs:</b> - Error if a value is reported that is not the code assigned to the reporting institution.
		Format: AlphaNumeric, 4 characters
		Updates: July 1987
3/6	Report Period (Term and Year)	<b>Definition:</b> The enrollment period identified by the term and the year on which the data are based (TYYYY)
		Term (T): The term on which the data are based.
		Year (YYYY): The year in which the term occurs. When the term code is "9" which signifies the total report year, use 4 digits of the fiscal year of the report period. The fiscal year is derived by the following. If the term is

		=3, the fiscal year is the same as the report year. If the term is =2, the fiscal year equals the report year $+ 1$ .
		If submitting a Calendar Year file, file should include each applicable term for the institution during the entire year. For example, Calendar Year 2012 would include equivalent of Winter 2012, Spring 2012, Interim 2012, Summer 2012 and Fall 2012. (Comment added 12/4/2012)
		If submitting a comma delimited file (CSV), Term and Year should be submitted as separate columns.
		Codes/Notes: 1 - Summer 2 - Fall 3 - Winter (only for institutions on a quarter system) 4 - Spring 5 - Interim
		Examples: Fiscal Year 2002-03 Summer 02 12002 Fall 02 22002 Winter 03 32003 (Institutions on quarter system only)
		Spring 03 42003 Interim 03 52003 Beginning in 1991, report period indicated by term, rather than end of year.
		Missing Value: Does not apply; field must be completed.
		<b>Edit Specs:</b> - Error if term value is < 1 or >5.
		- Error if year value does not represent current reporting year.
		Format: Numeric, 5 place integer (TYYYY)
		<b>Updates:</b> Expanded to four-digit format, year 2000 file conversions.
4/11	Student Identification Number	<b>Definition:</b> A number that uniquely identifies a student at an institution. Wherever possible, this should be the nine digit social security number assigned to an individual under the Federal Insurance Contribution Act. Social Security rules currently exclude use of numbers that are $<$ 000000100 or $>=$ 80000000
		<b>Codes/Notes:</b> If the Student Identification Number is assigned, the number should be used in all future reports by the institution for that student unless corrected or replaced by Social Security Number. Note: Use of an SSN is the only way DHE can track a student for retention and graduation

	1	
		analyses across institutions.
		If an individual's social security number is not available for use by an institution, the institution may report any student identification number up to 9 characters that is unique for that student. The institution also must report the Student Identification Type as "1," indicating that this number is not a Social Security Number.
		Note: Hyphens are not entered as part of the identification number.
		Missing Value: Does not apply; field must be completed.
		<b>Edit Specs:</b> Error if blank. If Student Identification Type is 0 or blank, error if value contains alpha characters or the last 6 digits are all zeroes or is < 000000100 or >= 800000000—This edit to be implemented with submissions for FY04 and modified to 90000000+ (vs 80000000+) December 2011.
		Format: AlphaNumeric, 9-place integer
		<b>Updates:</b> July 1988; edit specs modified July 2003; Dec 2011 - changed upper limit from 80000000;
5/20	Gender	<b>Definition:</b> The gender of the individual.
		Codes/Notes: 1 - Male 2 - Female Formerly identified as say
		Formerly identified as sex.
		Because IPEDS surveys do not provide an unknown gender option, DHE- generated IPEDS facsimiles are based on the following procedure, implemented March 2002 with the Fall 2001Enrollment File and FY2002 Degree File uploaded to NCES. Students whose ID ends with an even digit will be reported to NCES as male; students with an ID that ends with an odd number will be reported as female.
		Missing Value: Blank, if unknown.
		<b>Edit Specs:</b> Error if not blank or not = '1' or '2'.
		Format: Numeric, 1 place integer
		<b>Updates:</b> October 31, 1985; modified IPEDS proration methodology, March 2002.

6/21	Date of Birth	<b>Definition:</b> The date of birth as designated on the individual's legal birth registration or certificate.
		Codes/Notes: YYYYMMDD
		YYYY = four-digit year of birth MM = two-digit month of birth DD = two-digit day of birth
		This field is used to compute a student's age. The Commission computes a student's age for students enrolled in the summer and fall terms as of September 15, and for those enrolled in the winter and spring terms as of February 15. If the student is born on either September 15 or February 15, age is determined by subtracting the year of birth from the report year. Any birth dates before the 15th are calculated by subtracting the year of birth from the report year. Any birth dates after the 15th are calculated by subtracting the year of birth from the report year. Any birth dates after the 15th are calculated by subtracting 1 from that difference.
		Missing Value: Blank, if unknown.
		<b>Edit Specs:</b> Error if computed age is negative or if >110 Warning if computed age is < 14 or > 90
		Format: Numeric, 8 place integer
		<b>Updates:</b> Expanded to four-digit format, year 2000 file conversions, September 1998.
7/29	Student Level	<b>Definition:</b> The level at which a student is classified during the term which is being reported, based upon the total credits obtained toward completion of a degree/certificate program.
		<b>Codes/Notes:</b> Students are classified as undergraduate or graduate based on the number of credits completed as of the beginning of the term. Within those categories, students can be classified as degree/certificate-seeking or non- degree seeking. See Glossary for description of each level.
		UNDERGRADUATE: Degree-Seeking 11 - First Year (freshman) 12 - Second Year (sophomore) 13 - Third Year (junior)
		<ul> <li>14 - Fourth Year &amp; Beyond (senior)</li> <li>15 - Unclassified</li> <li>16 - Certificate with a Bachelor's (Regis Univ only)</li> </ul>

	Non-Degree-Seeking
	19 - Non Degree-Seeking Undergraduate Students Without a Bachelor's
	Degree
	20 - Non Degree-Seeking Undergraduate Students With a Bachelor's
	Degreecategorized by institution as an undergraduate student (can
	include post-baccalaureate students pursuing initial teacher licensure only)
	GRADUATE:
	21 - First Professional Degree-Seeking Removed Dec 2009
	31 - Master's
	<del>32 Doctoral</del> Removed Dec 2009
	33 - Specialist
	34 - Certificate with a Master's (Regis University only)
	39 - Non-Degree-Seeking Graduate Students With a Bachelor's Degree
	categorized by institution as a graduate student (can include post-
	baccalaureate students pursuing initial teacher licensure only)
	52 - Doctoral - Research/Scholarship (New Dec 2009)
	53 - Doctoral - Professional Practice (New Dec 2009)
	54 - Doctoral - Other (New Dec 2009) (Explanation required)
	Students reported in the IPEDS Graduation Rate Survey and DHE's
	Quality Indicator System cohorts must meet three criteria:
	be reported as first-time, full-time, and degree-seeking.
	- First-time is based on the Registration Status field and requires a code of
	1 Full-time classification is derived from the sum of three credit hour
	fields (resident instruction + ESP + other); vocational hours are included in
	RI or other credit hours) and the total must be at least 12 credit hours The
	degree-seeking criterion is based on the Student Level field and requires a
	student be reported with either code 11, 12, 13, 14, or 15, acknowledging
	college credit earned for work done during high school through concurrent
	enrollment and/or AP/IB.
	Students reported with a student level of 33 should be coded with a
	program type $= 8$ .
	Codes 16 and 24 wellid only for Encollegent and Einspeich Aid Eiles, not for
	Codes 16 and 34 valid only for Enrollment and Financial Aid Files, not for
	Teacher Education File.
	Missing Value: Does not apply; field must be completed.
	Edit Specs:
	- Error if not a valid code; codes 16 and 34 valid only for Regis
	University's Enrollment and Financial Aid Files.
	- For 2 year programs, only 11, 12, 15, 19, and 20 are valid.
	- Error will be generated for code "54" as an explanation is required
<u> </u>	

		Format: Numeric, 2 place integer
		<b>Updates:</b> Removed code for Extended Studies Program, December 1989, June 1991; added cumulative credit hour range verification with student level, June 1996; reconfigured structure, added codes 16, 20, 33, and 34, and deleted codes 35 and 36, July 2002; Dec 2009 replaced code 21, 32 with 52,53,54;
8/31	Tuition Classification	<b>Definition:</b> Classification of student for the purpose of tuition assessment Institutions must be in compliance with DHE's FTE Reporting Guideline and Procedures implemented for FY2003. Also see page on Tuition Classification—Detail.
		In State: Student determined to be in state for public tuition purposes according to Title 23 7 102 (5), C.R.S.
		Out of State: Student determined to be out of state for public tuition purposes according to Title 23 7 102 (5), C.R.S.
		<ul> <li>Codes/Notes:</li> <li>1 - In-state-Colorado resident</li> <li>2 - Out-of-State</li> <li>3 - Unclassifiedallowable only for students enrolled exclusively cashfunded courses. Students enrolled in state-funded extended campus cours should have a tuition classification of 1 or 2. Use this value only when in or out-of-state residency is not available. Private institutions not distinguishing between residents and non-residents should submit as Unclassified.</li> </ul>
		Special treatment of out-of-state student groups as provided for by Colorado statutes, summarized in Tuition Classification Detail field:
		Missing Value: Does not apply; field must be completed.
		<ul> <li>Edit Specs:</li> <li>Error if value &gt; 3.</li> <li>Error if 3 and resident instruction hours are greater than 0.</li> </ul>
		Format: Numeric, 1 place integer
		<b>Updates:</b> June 1991; added code 4 on limited basis, July 2002; deleted code 4, FY2004
9/32	Program Code	<b>Definition:</b> The program code that identifies the student's stated program at the time of the data report, where program code is defined as the

		<ul> <li>assigned classification of instructional program code associated with the approved program.</li> <li><b>Codes/Notes:</b> Formerly called major. The six-digit Classification of Instructional Program (CIP) code that identifies the specific field of study the individual is enrolled in.</li> <li>For the Degrees File, refer to the list of operating postsecondary programs for valid CIP codes approved for an institution. This list is different from the Approved Postsecondary Degree Publication and includes programs still eligible to report degrees during phase-out cycle. The institutional data contact person at each institution has the most recent copy of this list or you may request a correct copy of the list from the Commission.</li> <li>For the Undergraduate Applicant File and Enrollment File, students whose major is undeclared should be reported as '999999'. This code is invalid on the Degrees Granted file. For students accepted in a undergraduate degree program or program area but whose specific major is undeclared, (e.g. Engineering), an institution may identify majors by the use of '99' plus the first 4 digits of program area. (e.g. Engineering: 991401) The institution must offer the specific program at the baccalaureate level in order to report these discipline areas (e.g. cannot report pre-law since no undergraduate law program offered, cannot report pre-pharmacy if no pharmacy program is available on campus). If the student anticipates transferring into a program at another institution, this student must be reported in the liberal arts program, if offered, or as undeclared.</li> <li>The program area reported in this field will be the primary program unit of analysis for federal reports, enrollment projections, and standard Commission reports.</li> <li><b>Missing Value:</b> Blank, only if non-degree seeking student.</li> <li><b>Edit Specs:</b> Error if code reported is not found in the list of DHE approved programs for the reporting institution.</li> <li><b>Format:</b> Alphanumeric, 6 integers</li> </ul>
		Updates: December 1989
10/38	Program Sequence Number	<b>Definition:</b> The assigned sequence number that will differentiate programs classified by the same CIP code at an institution.
		<b>Codes/Notes:</b> Formerly called Major Sequence Number. For the majority of programs this field will be blank since the sequence number is assigned only to a small number of programs. Refer to the list of

		operating postsecondary programs for valid CIP codes and sequence numbers approved for an institution. Please contact the Commission Office for the most recent copy of this list.
		Where the major sequence is required, the number should be reported in 2 digit format (i.e. 02, 03, etc.)
		Missing Value: Blank, if not applicable.
		<b>Edit Specs:</b> Error if the Program Code and Program Sequence Number do not match the approved program list.
		Format: Numeric, 2 characters
		Updates: December 1989
11/40	Registration Status	<b>Definition:</b> This classification divides students into three major categories—first-time, transfer, and continuing/readmit—and three smaller groups: high school concurrent, summer only, and study abroad.
		Codes/Notes:
		1 - First-Time
		3 - Transfer
		<ul><li>5 - Continuing or Readmit</li><li>6 - Study abroad, with no hours of any kind</li></ul>
		7 - High school concurrent
		9 - Summer Only
		Missing Value: Unacceptable, must be completed.
		Edit Specs:
		See matrix with student level (Figure II).
		Enrollment File: All values valid.
		Value 6 valid only if total hours = zero. Value 9 valid only in summer terms.
		Cannot be 1st time (1) at the same level (undergrad, grad) in the same
		institution more than once unless summer and immediately following fall
		Format: Alpha-numeric, 1 place integer
		Updates: October 1985; Restructured field
		The values as listed and defined are not necessarily mutually exclusive. Therefore determining the proper value requires using a hierarchical decision rule.
		• If the student is a HS concurrent (including fast track, PSEO,

<ul> <li>Concurrent program, ASCENT, including those that are neither) in the term, code as 7, HS concurrent. May be in their first term at your institution or not. May be degree-seeking or not. Definition: Students age 18 or younger who have not graduated from HS or earned a GED.</li> <li>ELSE if summer only, code as 9. Definition: Students in this category cannot automatically continue on to the fall or spring term without applying for admission. May be their first summer term at your institution or not. Legal value only for summer terms. Generally non-degree only.</li> <li>ELSE, if enrolled for no hours, on file only due to Study Abroad participation, report as 6</li> <li>ELSE, if reporting for fall, was the student a registration-type 1 or 3 on the immediately prior summer term file? The student must be enrolled in the fall.</li> <li>If yes, report as the same code in fall (1 or 3) and STOP <ul> <li>If no, go on</li> </ul> </li> <li>ELSE, decide if this term is the student's first term at your institution at the strubent level, where level is undergrad or grad as defined in the STUDENT LEVEL values <ul> <li>If no (current term not the first term at your institution at this grad or undergraduate level not as a HS concurrent, or don't know, report as 5, continuing/readmit. If yes, Has the student earned college credit at any other institution, at the current level (grad or UG), since HS? If no or don't know, report as 1, first time. If yes, report as 3, transfer.Jf UG use 3; use 3 or 1 if graduate level, depending on institutional practice (added Aug2012).</li> <li>If yes (current term was first term at your institution at this level). Has the student earned college credit at this level (grad or UG) at any other institution at this level is or 1 if graduate level, depending on institutional transfer.Jf UG use 3; use 3 or 1 if graduate level, depending on institution at this level is a report as first term at your institution at this level is the student earned college credit at this level (grad or UG) at any</li></ul></li></ul>
-
• •
· · · ·
, 6
don't know, report as 1, first time · If yes, report as 3,
transfer.
• Finally, if the process above yields a 5/continuing, is the student
considered a new transfer or new graduate-level degree-seeking
<i>student (added Aug2012)</i> at your institution this term? This occurs in some institutions when students formally apply to (that is, apply
to, are admitted to, then enroll in) a degree program from non-
degree status <i>at your school</i>
• If student is considered a new undergraduate transfer by the
institution, report as 3, transfer
• If student is considered a new graduate degree-seeking
student by the institution, report as 3 (transfer) or 1, first-
time depending on institutional practice. (Added Aug2012)

<ul> <li>Note that a student could conceivably be reported as a <i>1 or</i> 3 on files for several terms– 1 or 2 terms as a new non-degree undergrad [a summer file and a fall file] with prior work elsewhere after HS, 1 or 2 terms as a transfer from UG non-degree, <i>1 or 2 terms as new at the graduate level, and 1 or 2 more as new to graduate degree work.</i></li> <li>A student could be reported as a 1 (first time) at the graduate level on several terms – 1 or 2 terms as new at the graduate level on several terms – 1 or 2 terms when moving from grad-level non-degree to degree. (Added Aug2012)</li> <li>Students reported as 3's/transfers in undergrad degree programs (levels 11-15) on the enrollment file who were previously enrolled as non-degree students at the same institution (except as high school concurrents) must be reported on the UAF as transfers with prior institution code = own institution code.</li> </ul>
Changes effective with files for summer 2003 (FY 2003-04) • HS concurrent given a separate value, which takes precedence over all else and includes continuing HS concurrents. Students with value 7 HS concurrent would usually have been 2's or 5's or 4's in the old scheme with program type 5. • Summer only separated and includes continuing. In old scheme would usually have been 2's with program type 6. • New value for study abroad only. Would probably not have been on the file before. • Old value 4, readmit, dropped – value 5, continuing, becomes continuing AND readmit • Old value 2, first-time other, dropped. Some students who would have been 2's before would be 1's in the revised scheme, with student level 19, or 39 (non-degree). Others will be 3's now, if prior same- level post-HS work at another institution is known. This includes all level 20's.
Changes effective for files for summer 2012 (FY2013):
<ul> <li>Wording changes to clarify operation of enter-summer/enrolled fall, and to add explicit graduate-undergraduate distinctions where appropriate.</li> <li>Add language to allow a value of 1, first-time, or 3, transfer, for a student moving from non-degree graduate-level enrollment at an institution, to degree-seeking graduate enrollment at the same institution. This provision makes reporting on graduate non-degree to degree, parallel to that for undergraduates. This procedure should not be used for students moving from one degree program to another (e.g. MA English to PhD English, or MS Mechanical Engineering to MS Electrical Engineering).</li> <li>Add language to allow institutional practice to determine whether new graduate degree-seeking students with prior graduate work are</li> </ul>

		reported as 1, new, or 3, transfer.
12/41	State (At Time of Entry)	<b>Definition:</b> Code reported in the Enrollment File identifies the state in which a student resided during the first term and will be used to identify state in which a student resided for the first enrolled term after admission to the institution for first time freshmen and transfer students when not available in UAF. This code does not indicate tuition classification since out of state students may reside in Colorado at time of application, and in state students may apply from out of state residences.
		<b>Code/Notes:</b> Mandatory for students reported with first time freshmen or transfer registration status in Enrollment file. When reporting UAF, state required for students with registration status of first-time freshmen or transfer and admission status of applicant, accepted, or assessed/enrolled.
		See County Code table in Glossary.
		<b>Missing Value:</b> Blank acceptable if unknown, except if registration status = first-time freshmen or transfer.
		Edit Specs: - Error check on first time and transfer students only - Error if value not blank and is not a valid code listed above.
		Format: AlphaNumeric, 2 place integer
		Updates: Added code for U.S. Territories, March 1995
13/43	County (At Time of Entry)	<b>Definition:</b> Code reported in the UAF that identifies the Colorado county for student in one of the following categories:
		<ol> <li>applicant, not enrolled, at four-year institution—report county applicant resided in at the time of application to the institution;</li> <li>applicant, enrolled, at four-year institution—report county applican resided in at time of application, if available, or for the first term of enrollment</li> <li>enrolled and/or assessed students reported in two-year institution UAF—report county student resided in at time of most recent application, if available, or for the first term of enrollment</li> </ol>
		<b>Codes/Notes:</b> Mandatory for first time freshmen or transfer students. This data element is normally available only for in state students. Some out of state students, however, may have Colorado permanent addresses, and in those cases, report the appropriate county code when possible. Otherwise

		use the out of state or out of country code as appropriate. Can be determined from the zip code of student's permanent address, if not able to be determined directly.
		001 to 125 - Various Colorado Counties 998 - Out of Country 999 - Out of State
		<b>Missing Value:</b> Blank, if unknown or unavailable except if registration status is first-time freshmen or transfer; students residing out of state should be reported as 999, not blank.
		<b>Edit Specs:</b> - Error if value not blank and not a valid code from county table. - Error check on first time students and transfer students.
		Format: AlphaNumeric, 3 place integer
		Updates: October 1985; Broomfield County added November 2001
14/46	Year of High School Graduation	<b>Definition:</b> Four-digit year in which the student graduated from high school.
		<b>Codes/Notes:</b> NNNN - four-digit year of graduation 9999 - did not graduate from high school and did not complete a GED
		If student has GED, then a GED score should be reported in the GED Score field on Undergraduate Applicant File and Year of High School Graduation should be left blank.
		If student is high school concurrent, report student in registration status as 7, and Year of High School Graduation should be left blank.
		If student did not graduate from high school or year of high school graduation is unknown, leave blank.
		<b>Missing Value:</b> Field required for all first-time and assessed students in UAF and first-time in the Enrollment File, except for GED admits.
		<ul> <li>Edit Specs:</li> <li>Error if alphanumeric.</li> <li>Error when date of birth and high school graduation year missing.</li> <li>Error if year of high school graduation &gt; report year.</li> <li>Error of year of high school graduation is &lt; report year -60.</li> </ul>

		- Warning when date of birth indicates recent high school graduation year.
		Format: Numeric, 4 character
		<b>Updates:</b> Expanded to four-digit format, year 2000 file conversions; updated missing information on July 2001.
15/50	Credit Hours RI (State-funded attempted credit hours)	<b>Definition:</b> The total credits <b>attempted</b> by the student during the reporting period eligible to be reported as resident instruction according to DHE FTE Reporting Guidelines.
	liours)	<b>Codes/Notes:</b> Credits attempted via interinstitutional enrollments may be included. State-funded credit hours excludes credits attempted by academic exemption tests (e.g. CLEP) accrued by exemption or other transcripted academic credit (e.g., AP; CLEP; prior learning).
		Since some institutions compute fractional credits, space is allotted for one decimal position. Round to the nearest decimal value if necessary. If no decimal value is reported, <u>enter a trailing zero</u> . For example, code 12 credit hours as 120; code 1.5 credit hours as 015.
		All student credit hours reported during any report period in a single academic year must use a single basis, either quarter or semester. Only UCHSC may concurrently offer courses with quarter credit hours while others are semester credit hours but UCHSC must convert all hours to the equivalent semester hours.
		Students reported in the IPEDS Graduation Rate Survey and DHE's Quality Indicator System cohorts must meet three criteria: be reported as first-time in fall, full-time in fall, and a degree-seeking undergraduate in fall First-time is based on the Registration Status field and requires a code of 1.
		<ul> <li>Full-time classification is derived from the sum of three credit hour fields (resident instruction + ESP + other); vocational hours are included in RI or other credit hours). The total must be at least 12 credit hours.</li> <li>The degree-seeking undergraduate criterion is based on the Student Level field and requires a student be reported with one of codes 11, 12, 13, 14, or 15, with 12-15 acknowledging college credit earned for work done during high school through concurrent enrollment and/or AP/IB.</li> </ul>
		Missing Value: Blank if no credits
		<b>Edit Specs:</b> - Error if < 0 or > 30. - Warning if > 21.
		Format: AlphaNumeric, 2 place integer, 1 place decimal (99V9) (the

		decimal point is implied)
		Updates: December 1989
16/53	Credit Hours ESP (Cash-funded attempted credit hours)	<ul> <li>Updates: December 1989</li> <li>Definition: The total academic credits attempted by the student during the report period through the Extended Studies Program.</li> <li>For SURDS reporting purposes, Extended Studies Program instruction includes the following at four year institutions: <ul> <li>Credit based cash-funded instruction</li> <li>delivered at an off-campus physical location</li> <li>delivered by an institution's extended studies unit on the sponsoring institution's campus</li> <li>delivered at a distance</li> </ul> </li> <li>Off campus instruction that has been approved for COF eligibility by the Commission Removed 2/24/2012, These reported in RI Hours</li> <li>Remedial credit hours delivered as cash funded</li> </ul> <li>Codes/Notes: Report remedial credit hours here for those institutions that deliver remedial courses as cash-funded (i.e., cannot claim state funding). MSCD and UCD cannot deliver remedial as cash- or state-funded.</li> <li>Since some institutions compute fractional credits, space is allotted for one decimal position. Round to the nearest decimal value if necessary. If no decimal value is reported, <u>enter a trailing zero</u>. For example, code 12 credit hours as 120; code 1.5 credit hours as 015.</li> <li>Students reported in the IPEDS Graduation Rate Survey and DHE's Quality Indicator System cohorts must meet three criteria: be reported as first-time in fall, full-time in fall, and a degree-seeking undergraduate in fall.</li>
		<ul> <li>First-time is based on the Registration Status field and requires a code of 1.</li> <li>Full-time classification is derived from the sum of three credit hour fields (resident instruction + ESP + other); vocational hours are included in RI or other credit hours). The total must be at least 12 credit hours.</li> <li>The degree-seeking undergraduate criterion is based on the Student</li> </ul>
		Level field and requires a student be reported with one of codes 11, 12, 13, 14, or 15, with 12-15 acknowledging college credit earned for work done during high school through concurrent enrollment and/or AP/IB.
		Missing Value: Blank, if no credits

		<ul> <li>Edit Specs:</li> <li>Error if not blank and &lt; 0 or &gt; 30</li> <li>Warning if &gt; 21.</li> <li>Format: AlphaNumeric, 2 place integer, 1 place decimal (99V9) (the decimal point is implied)</li> <li>Updates: June 1991; Feb 2012 - removed COF eligible hours definition</li> </ul>
17/56	Credit Hours Other (Excluded from state-funding)	<ul> <li>Definition: The total academic credits attempted by the student during the report period through programs which were not eligible to be reported as resident instruction according to the DHE FTE Reporting Guidelines and Procedures.</li> <li>Codes/Notes: Since some institutions compute fractional credits, space is allotted for one decimal position. Round to the nearest decimal value if necessary. If no decimal value is reported, <u>enter a trailing zero</u>. For example, code 12 credit hours as 120; code 1.5 credit hours as 015. Examples:</li> <li>Avocational courses</li> <li>Limited enrollment (closed) courses</li> <li>Sponsored courses</li> <li>Tutorial</li> <li>Tuition Waivers</li> </ul>
		<ul> <li>Edit Specs: <ul> <li>Error if not blank and &lt; 0 or &gt; 30.</li> <li>Warning if &gt; 21.</li> </ul> </li> <li>Format: AlphaNumeric, 2 place integer, 1 place decimal (99V9) (the decimal point is implied)</li> <li>Updates: June 1991; deleted reference to Type C instruction, July 2002</li> </ul>
18/59	Cumulative GPA	<ul> <li>Definition: Cumulative grade point average (GPA) at the reporting institution, computed at the <u>end</u> of the reported term from all college-level courses to which a grade is assigned since enrolling at the institution at the current level (i.e., undergraduate, graduates, first professional). Based on a four point system.</li> <li>Codes/Notes: The grade point average should be reported on a four point scale where the highest score equals 4 and 0 is the lowest.</li> </ul>
		If the institutional grading system is on a different scale, convert grades as

		<ul> <li>indicated on H.S. GPA Transcript page. If the institution uses a weighted grading system for Advanced Placement courses and the student achieves a GPA greater than 4 in a four-point scale, report only the maximum value of "4.000".</li> <li>Report three decimal positions as shown in the format.</li> <li>Missing Value: Blank, if unknown.</li> <li>Edit Specs: <ul> <li>Error if &lt; 0 or &gt; 4.000</li> <li>Warning if field is 0.</li> </ul> </li> <li>Format: AlphaNumeric, 1 place integer plus 3 place decimal (9V999) (the decimal point is implied)</li> <li>Updates: Required missing GPA to be a blank, not zero, March 16, 1998</li> </ul>	
19/63	Program Code2	<b>Definition:</b> See definition/description of Program Code.	
		The program area reported in this field is used only in analyses that are program specific (i.e., program discontinuance, new program approval, and related program projections.)	
20/69	Program Sequence2	<b>Definition:</b> See definition/description of Program Sequence.	
21/71	Term GPA	<ul> <li>Definition: Grade point average (GPA) that will be recorded in students' transcript for the current term at the reporting institution, computed at the end of the reported term. Based on a four point system.</li> <li>Codes/Notes: The grade point average should be reported on a four-point scale where the highest score equals 4 and 0 is the lowest. Report three decimal positions as shown in the format.</li> <li>Convert grade point averages that were not reported on a four point scale to a scale equivalent to: <ul> <li>4 - A</li> <li>3 - B</li> <li>2 - C</li> <li>1 - D</li> <li>0 - F</li> </ul> </li> </ul>	
		with 4.00 the highest possible GPA and 0.0 the lowest. To convert a GPA:	
		Grade Scale Divide By 3 .75	
		$\frac{3}{4}$ .75	
		4     1.00       5     1.25	
		$\frac{5}{6}$ 1.50	

		7	1.75	
		8	2.00	
		9	2.25	
		10	2.50	
		11	2.75	
		12	3.00	
		to the discretion institution commanner. Missing Value Edit Specs: - Error if < 0 o - Warning if fin	on of each institutio verts the grades to a e: Blank, if unknow or $> 4.00$ . eld is 0. aNumeric, 1 place	a scaling system other than above are left n. The only requirement is that the a four point system in a consistent wn. integer plus 3 place decimal (9V999)
		Updates: Requ	uired missing GPA	to be a blank, not zero, March 1998
22/75	High School Code	Definition: The student gradua institutional co Codes/Notes: time or is enro ASCENT. Use Colorado high from the table. (http://www.ac enter known in does not have a code. Use the follow If a students ea	a code that identifit ted, comprised of a ode. A high school code lled through a PSE the 6 digit Americ school codes. Do r Refer to the ACT ct.org). Search for h formation about hi an entry on the AC	tes the secondary school from which a a 2 digit state code plus a 4 digit e must be reported if the student is first- O, Fast Track, Concurrent program or can College Testing (ACT) number for not enter the hyphens in the school codes website for an unknown high school code nigh school codes; select Colorado and agh school in question. If the high school T website, contact DHE for an assigned a student who is home schooled: 969999.
			U	s available, use the full 6 digit code s not available, enter at least the

		appropriate 2 digit state code in the first two positions and leave the rest of the field blank if the institution code is not available.
		Note: Do <b>not</b> use 060000 to indicate an unknown Colorado high school. ACT has assigned this code to Adams City High School in Commerce City. For a Colorado high school graduate with an <b>unknown</b> high school, be sure to leave the last four positions <b>blank</b> .
		Beginning in 1992-93, community colleges must report this data element on the enrollment file, for any first time student who graduated from a Colorado high school within the previous three years.
		For full list of codes, see downloadable list in glossary
		<b>Missing Value:</b> Blank acceptable if unknown, unavailable, except if student is 1) first-time freshman or assessed in Undergraduate Applicant File or 2) reported as first-time freshman or a high school concurrent in Enrollment File.
		<ul> <li>Edit Specs: The field is divided into the state code (first two digits) and institution code (last four digits) for the edit.</li> <li>Error if state code is not a valid code from the table on State page, unless student is homeschooled or GED</li> <li>Error if state code is '06' and institution code is not a valid ACT code or four blanks for unknown.</li> <li>Error if code is 069999; use code '06' followed by four blanks (left instified) if an language which achieve have been blanks.</li> </ul>
		justified) if unknown Colorado high school code.
		Format: AlphaNumeric, 6 place integer
		<b>Updates:</b> Added reporting requirement for two-year institutions, December 1992.; November 2011 - GED HS Code set to 960000 to match current practice;
23/81	Cumulative Credit Hours	<b>Definition:</b> The total college-level credit hours <b>completed</b> by the student and counted toward a degree or certificate, computed at the <u>end</u> of the reported term.
		- Includes advanced placement credits
		<ul><li>Includes transfer hours</li><li>Excludes remedial credit hours</li></ul>
		<b>Codes/Notes:</b> The cumulative credit hours reported should correspond to the student level at the <b>end</b> of the term. This student level is the one that the student would be eligible for in the following term of enrollment.
		<u>Note:</u> This data element is being collected to get a close ESTIMATE of the number of total credit hours accumulated by the student. Because of

		<ul> <li>different institutional policies regarding incomplete, transfer evaluations, and failures, it is understood that this number will <u>not</u> always be absolutely accurate.</li> <li>Since some institutions compute fractional credits, space is allotted for one decimal position. Round to the nearest decimal value if necessary. If no decimal value is reported, <u>enter a trailing zero</u>. For example, code 12 credit hours as 0120; code 7.5 credit hours as 0075.</li> <li>All student credit hours reported during any report period in a single academic year must use a single basis, either quarter or semester. Only UCHSC may concurrently offer courses with quarter credit hours while others are semester credit hours but UCHSC must convert all hours to the equivalent semester hours.</li> </ul>
		<ul> <li>Missing Value: Blank if no credits</li> <li>Edit Specs: <ul> <li>Error if &lt; 0</li> <li>Error if student level = 12 and cumulative semester credit hours &lt; 30</li> <li>Error if student level = 13 and cumulative semester credit hours &lt; 60</li> <li>Error if student level = 14 and cumulative semester credit hours &lt; 90</li> <li>Error if student level = 12 and cumulative quarter credit hours &lt; 45</li> <li>Error if student level = 13 and cumulative quarter credit hours &lt; 90</li> <li>Error if student level = 14 and cumulative quarter credit hours &lt; 90</li> <li>Error if student level = 14 and cumulative quarter credit hours &lt; 135</li> <li>Warning if credit hours exceeds 150% of degree level (i.e., 181+ credit hours for baccalaureate, 91+ credit hours for certificate or associate)</li> </ul> </li> <li>Format: AlphaNumeric, 3 place integer, 1 place decimal (999V9) (the decimal point is implied)</li> <li>Updates: Added cumulative credit hour range verification with student level, June 1996.</li> </ul>
24/85	Degree Level	Definition: The level of degree/diploma/certificate conferred by the institution upon the student for the successful completion of a program.         Codes/Notes: (See Glossary for description of each degree level category.)         Certificates-         01 - Certificate (less than 1 year)         02 - Certificate (at least 1 but less than 2 years)         03 - Certificate (at least 2 but less than 4 years)         05 - Post-Master's Certificate (Regis Univ only)         Degrees-         11 - Associate of Applied Science         12 - Associate of General Studies

1		
		13 - Associate Degree (AA or AS)
		21 - Bachelor's Degree
		31 - Master's Degree
		33 - Specialist Degree
		41 - First-Professional Degree Removed Dec 2009
		51 - Doctoral Degree Removed Dec 2009
		52 - Doctoral - Research/Scholarship
		53 - Doctoral - Professional Practice
		54 - Doctoral - Other (Explanation Required)
	It	f a student receives two awards for completing two programs in two
		otally independent courses of study, report both completions by
		ubmitting two records for the student with each program coded in its
		ppropriate category.
	N	fissing Value: Blank acceptable if non-degree seeking student
	F	dit Specs:
		Error if value not in student level/degree level table for appropriate file.
		Error if for a degree/certificate level not authorized for an approved
		rogram.
	-	Error will be generated for code "54" as an explanation is required
	F	ormat:AlphaNumeric, 2 place integer
		<b>Dpdates:</b> December 1989; December 1991; added code 33, and deleted ode 04, July 2002; December 2009- new codes 52, 53, 54;
	ntification b	<b>Definition:</b> The indicator to classify the Student Identification Number as elieved to be either a social security number or a institutional-assigned lentification number.
	0	Codes/Notes:
		– Indicates that the Student Identification Number is believed to be a ocial security number
		– Indicates that the Student Identification Number is NOT a social ecurity number.
	N	fissing Value: Not acceptable.
	E	Cdit Specs: Must be "0" or "1"
	F	<b>Format:</b> Alphanumeric, 1
	U	<b>pdates:</b> Implemented, FY2004

26/88	Tuition	Definition:
	Classification Detail	
		<b>Codes/Notes:</b> Codes 0 – 2 for use in FY2004; codes 3 and higher to be
		mandatory (if applicable) in FY2005.
		0 Nataraliashla
		<ul> <li>0 – Not applicable</li> <li>1 – Non-Resident Alien</li> </ul>
		<ul> <li>2 - Colorado/New Mexico reciprocity—This code is valid for only</li> </ul>
		ASC, FLC, USC, WSC, LCC, PCC, and TSJC
		• 3 – U. S. Armed Forces and their dependents
		• 4 – Canadian Military Personnel and their dependents
		• 5 – Olympic Training Center athletes
		• 6 – Chinese and Russian students in graduate public policy
		programs
		• 7 – WICHE Regional Graduate Program
		<ul> <li>8 – WICHE Undergraduate Exchange Program (WUE)</li> <li>9 – Colorado Educational Exchange Program</li> </ul>
		<ul> <li>A - In-state tuition classification but charged out of state tuition for</li> </ul>
		no verification
		B - Economic Development
		C - Faculty Dependent
		D - Honorably Discharged Veteran
		(2) <u>DHE-Approved Reciprocity Agreements</u> . C.R.S. 23 1 112 allows students participating in this program to be claimed by Colorado institutions for state general fund, up to the maximum number of FTE allocated to the institution by DHE. Colorado has approved reciprocity agreements with New Mexico and Utah in SURDS files. Report student as in-state in SURDS files.
		(3) <u>U.S. Armed Forces and Their Dependents</u> . C.R.S. 23 7 103(1)(c)(I) and (II) allows U.S. military personnel and dependents to be granted in-state tuition status, prior to having been domiciled in Colorado for twelve continuous months, upon moving to Colorado on a permanent change-of- station basis, for courses that are not taken on military bases. Credits generated in off-base courses may be reported for FTE general fund support, but these credit hours must be separately identified in the End of Year FTE Report. Report student as in-state in SURDS files.
		(4) <u>Canadian Military Personnel and Their Dependents</u> . C.R.S. 23-7-106 provides that any member of the military forces of Canada stationed in Colorado, or the dependent of any such member, shall receive in-state tuition status at any institution of higher education in this state. No member of the Canadian military shall be deemed to be stationed in this state unless he maintains a full-time principal residence in this state. In- state tuition status for Canadian military personnel or their dependents shall terminate

at the conclusion of the current quarter or semester upon transfer to any station outside this state. Report student as out-of-state in SURDS files.
(5) <u>Olympic Training Center Athletes</u> . C.R.S. 23-7-105 allows athletes living in Colorado Springs and training at the Olympic Training Center, or at a facility in Colorado Springs approved by the Olympic governing board to be considered in-state students for the purposes of assessing tuition and generating FTE reimbursable credits at any state-supported institution of higher education. Report student as in-state in SURDS files.
(6) <u>Chinese and Russian students in Graduate Public Policy Programs</u> . C.R.S. 23-7-107 allows students from The Commonwealth of Independent States (Russia) and the People's Republic of China in graduate public policy programs to be allowed to receive in-state tuition. However, these students may not be counted as resident students for any purpose other than tuition classification. Report student as out-of-state in SURDS files.
(7) <u>WICHE Regional Graduate Program</u> . C.R.S. 23-1-108(10) allows postgraduate or professional students participating in this program to be claimed by Colorado institutions as in-state students for the purposes of assessing tuition, enrollment reporting, and budgetary reporting. Report student as in-state in SURDS files.
(8) <u>WICHE Undergraduate Exchange Program (WUE)</u> . Students participating in the WUE program are assessed 150% of the in-state tuition rate of the Colorado institution. The enrollment in the WICHE undergraduate program is not reportable for state general fund. Report student as out-of-state in SURDS files.
(9) <u>Colorado Educational Exchange Program</u> . C.R.S. 23 3.3-601 allows students to be reported as in-state students for the purposes of assessing tuition, enrollment reporting, and budgetary reporting. The institution must be approved by DHE to participate in the Colorado Educational Exchange Program. No student may be a recipient or participant for more than one year. Report student as in-state in SURDS files.
(A) <u>No verification of lawful presence</u> . Title 24-76.5-101-103; In-state resident charged out-of-state tuition based on no verification of lawful presence
(B) <u>Economic Development</u> . HB07-1256 Grants in-state status to employees and employee's children (NOT spouses) if employee moved to Colorado as the result of the employer's moving "all or a portion of its operations to Colorado as a result of receiving an incentive from the Colorado Office of Economic Development or an incentive from a local

	government economic incentive program. Effective August 8, 2007
	(C) <u>Faculty Dependent</u> . HB07-1256 Grants in-state tuition to the child of a new faculty member (but NOT to the faculty member or spouse) at "a state-supported institution of higher education." Effective August 8, 2007
	(D) <u>Honorably Discharged Veterans</u> . H.B. 09-1039; Beginning with the fall semester of FY 2009-10, this legislation requires that state institutions of higher education charge resident tuition rates to honorably discharged veterans. State institutions of higher education may also extend the resident rate to spouses and dependents of veterans.
	Missing Value: Blank not acceptable.
	Edit Specs:
	Error if value >2 for FY04; error if value >9 for FY05. Race/ethnicity must be non-resident alien if tuition classification-detail = 1 and tuition classification = 1. Error if tuition classification-detail greater than 0 (and not 8 or A) and tuition classification = 2 or 3.
	Format: Alphanumeric, 1 place integer
	<b>Updated:</b> Implemented, FY2004 (see code note above); WICHE exception (July08). WUE out of state (Mar11)
27/89 SASID (State Assigned Student Identification	<b>Definition:</b> Student identification number assigned by the state for use during enrollment in K-12.
Number)	Codes/Notes:
	<b>Missing Value:</b> For FY2009, SASID required for Adams State, Mesa State, MSCD, Western State. For FY2010, all institutions must submit SASID for specified students
	<b>Edit Specs:</b> Error if blank for ASC, MSC, MSCD, WSC for FY2009, any inst for FY2010
	Error if blank and (Year of HS Grad >= 2007 and In-State (Colorado Public High School graduate)) OR high school Concurrent/ASCENT student
	Error if not numeric or less than 10 digits
	Format: AlphaNumeric, 10 place integer
	Updated: Implemented, Summer 2008

28/99	Non-Resident Alien	<ul> <li>Definition: A flag that indicates whether the student is not a citizen or national of the United States and who is in this country on a visa or temporary basis and does not have the right to remain indefinitely.</li> <li>Codes/Notes: This is a yes/no field signifying the selection of this category. "1" specifies a "yes" response and "0" specifies a "no" response (or not completed)</li> <li>Missing Value: Does not apply; field must be completed.</li> <li>Edit Specs: Error if blank Error if not 1 or 0</li> <li>Format: Numeric, 1 place integer</li> <li>Updates: Added – December 2009, Required beginning in Summer 2010;</li> </ul>
		Modified Nov 2012 to conform to IPEDS definitions. http://nces.ed.gov/ipeds/glossary/?charindex=N
29/100	Ethnicity Hispanic/Latino	<b>Definition:</b> A flag that indicates whether a student specified this ethnicity as describing themselves. This field will be available for Summer 2009 and is required beginning in Summer 2010. If your institution populates this field in 2009, you must also populate the old format race/ethnicity field as well.
		<b>Codes/Notes:</b> This is a yes/no field signifying the selection of ethnicity categories. "1" specifies a "yes" response and "0" specifies a "no" response (or not completed)
		Missing Value: Does not apply; field must be completed.
		<b>Edit Specs:</b> Error if blank Error if not 1 or 0
		Format: Numeric, 1 place integer
		Updates: Added – December 2009;
30/101	Race Native American or Alaska Native	<b>Definition:</b> A flag that indicates whether a student specified this race as describing themselves. This field will be available for Summer 2009 and is required beginning in Summer 2010. If your institution populates this field in 2009, you must also populate the old format race/ethnicity field as well.
		<b>Codes/Notes:</b> This is a yes/no field signifying the selection of race categories. "1" specifies a "yes" response and "0" specifies a "no"

		response (or not completed)
		Missing Value: Does not apply; field must be completed.
		<b>Edit Specs:</b> Error if blank Error if not 1 or 0
		Format: Numeric, 1 place integer
		Updates: Added – December 2009;
31/102	Race Asian	<b>Definition:</b> A flag that indicates whether a student specified this race as describing themselves. This field will be available for Summer 2009 and is required beginning in Summer 2010. If your institution populates this field in 2009, you must also populate the old format race/ethnicity field as well.
		<b>Codes/Notes:</b> This is a yes/no field signifying the selection of race categories. "1" specifies a "yes" response and "0" specifies a "no" response (or not completed)
		Missing Value: Does not apply; field must be completed.
		<b>Edit Specs:</b> Error if blank Error if not 1 or 0
		Format: Numeric, 1 place integer
		Updates: Added – December 2009;
32/103	Race Black or African American	<b>Definition:</b> A flag that indicates whether a student specified this race as describing themselves. This field will be available for Summer 2009 and is required beginning in Summer 2010. If your institution populates this field in 2009, you must also populate the old format race/ethnicity field as well.
		<b>Codes/Notes:</b> This is a yes/no field signifying the selection of race categories. "1" specifies a "yes" response and "0" specifies a "no" response (or not completed)
		Missing Value: Does not apply; field must be completed.
		<b>Edit Specs:</b> Error if blank Error if not 1 or 0

		Format: Numeric, 1 place integer
		Updates: Added – December 2009;
33/104	Race Native Hawaiian or Other Pacific Islander	<b>Definition:</b> A flag that indicates whether a student specified this race as describing themselves. This field will be available for Summer 2009 and is required beginning in Summer 2010. If your institution populates this field in 2009, you must also populate the old format race/ethnicity field as well. <b>Codes/Notes:</b> This is a yes/no field signifying the selection of race categories. "1" specifies a "yes" response and "0" specifies a "no" response (or not completed)
		Missing Value: Does not apply; field must be completed.
		<b>Edit Specs:</b> Error if blank Error if not 1 or 0
		Format: Numeric, 1 place integer
		Updates: Added – December 2009;
34/105	Race White	<b>Definition:</b> A flag that indicates whether a student specified this race as describing themselves. This field will be available for Summer 2009 and is required beginning in Summer 2010. If your institution populates this field in 2009, you must also populate the old format race/ethnicity field as well.
		<b>Codes/Notes:</b> This is a yes/no field signifying the selection of race categories. "1" specifies a "yes" response and "0" specifies a "no" response (or not completed)
		Missing Value: Does not apply; field must be completed.
		<b>Edit Specs:</b> Error if blank Error if not 1 or 0
		Format: Numeric, 1 place integer
		Updates: Added – December 2009;
35/106	Institutional Assigned Student ID Number	<b>Definition:</b> A number that uniquely identifies a student at an institution. This number is assigned by the institution and is typically used in place of the Social Security Number.
		<b>Note:</b> Hyphens are <b>not</b> entered as part of the identification number.

		Missing Value: Optional use determined by institution
		Edit Specs: None
		Format: Alphanumeric, 9-place integer or less
		Updates: Jan 2012 - New
36/115	State (Current)	<b>Definition:</b> Code reported in the Enrollment File identifies the state in which a student resided during the <b>current reporting period</b> . This code does not indicate tuition classification. Used for IPEDS fall enrollment collection (students enrolled exclusively in distance education by student location).
		Code/Notes: See State Code table in Glossary.
		Missing Value: If unknown, report code/value for Unknown Location
		Edit Specs: - Error if value not blank and is not a valid code listed above.
		Format: AlphaNumeric, 2 place integer
		Updates: Added to Enrollment August 2012
37/117	Military Type	<b>Definition</b> : Description of student military classification, if applicable. This description is intended to further describe the student, <b>regardless of whether</b> this characteristic was a determining factor in the student's tuition classification. For example, "Active Duty Military" personnel should be identified as such regardless of their assigned base or station or whether that status determined in-state tuition.
		Missing Value: None, Default=0
		Edit Specs:
		<ul> <li>0 - No Military Status</li> <li>1 - Active US Military</li> <li>2 - Reserve US Military</li> <li>3 - US Military Dependent</li> <li>4 - Canadian Military</li> <li>5 - Honorably Discharged Veteran</li> <li>6 - Other veteran</li> </ul>
1		Format: AlphaNumeric, 1 character
38/118	Privacy Notification (FERPA Block)	<b>Definition</b> : Field specifies whether or not the student has an active FERPA block at the institution at the time of the data reporting

		<ul> <li>period. Used by DHE to exclude students from data sharing processes that includes personally identifiable information.</li> <li>Missing Value: None, Default=0</li> <li>Edit Specs:</li> <li>0 = No, block not requested by student</li> <li>1 = Yes, block requested by student</li> <li>Format: AlphaNumeric, 1 character</li> </ul>
39/119	Academic Designation	Definition: Field further describes Program Code and Degree Level and is used to specify degree and certificate concentration and/or specialization.         Missing Value: Blank if not applicable         Edit Specs: None
		Format: AlphaNumeric, 10 characters